On Enterprise plans, the following roles are available:
| Role type | Description |
| System Admin | System Admins manage creating teams, inviting users, and assigning roles at the organization level, and the organization settings, including SSO/SCIM setup, redaction settings, and sharing permissions. |
| Team Admin | Team Admins can invite users at the team level and manage specific team settings and documents. |
| Creator | Creators can create and edit documents |
| Viewer | Authenticated viewers can view shared documents and provide admins with insights into document utilization and engagement. They can also leverage the Guide Me feature. |
Seat types
Enterprise plans include two types of seats:
- Standard seat: assigned to users with the System Admin, Team Admin, or Creator role.
- Limited seat: assigned to users with the Viewer role.
If a user belongs to multiple teams with different roles, they only consume one Standard seat, as long as they hold an Admin or Creator role in at least one of those teams.
Managing System Admins
We recommend having at least two System Admins in your organization. This ensures continuity of access to critical settings if your primary admin is unavailable.
Before assigning the System Admin role, keep in mind:
- The user must already be a member of your organization.
- System Admins consume a Standard seat, so make sure you have an available seat before assigning the role.
Managing Seats
System Admins can view the number of purchased and used seats in the Team Management section of Organization Settings:
Enterprise System Admins on Core, Hub, and Grid modules can add seats directly in-product, without needing to contact support. Learn how in Adding and managing seats in-product for Enterprise customers.
Managing team members
Use the guides below to manage users in your organization.
Remove a teammate:
View and manage existing users (including User Deactivation):
Note: Documents owned by removed teammates will move to an Admin's ownership. This applies to all plans.